Conservative Leaders to Governor Abbott: Keep Supporting Voter ID

Conservative Action Project — Thursday, April 15, 2021


The Honorable Greg Abbott
Governor of Texas
Office of the Governor
P.O. Box 12428
Austin, TX 78711

Dear Governor Abbott:

At a time when so many Americans have lost trust in our elections—and, for that matter, have lost hope for the future of America—Texas serves as a beacon of light. We, the undersigned leaders of organizations across the nation, thank you for your leadership at this critical juncture.

We are particularly grateful to you for making election reform an emergency item in 87th Texas Legislature. Know of our support for those reforms moving forward, particularly as you weather the hollow threats of “woke” corporations who know virtually nothing about Texas election law.

We do have a specific request for you. Though the legislation moving through the Texas House and Texas Senate would represent good progress toward ensuring fair and transparent elections in Texas, the two omnibus elections bills—HB6 and SB7—both fail to include a crucial provision: voter verification for mail-in ballots, as Georgia recently passed. Even with the good provisions in those bills, not closing that loophole would leave Texas open to massive fraud via mail-in ballots. This is particularly concerning, considering usage of mail-ballots in your state has increased fivefold since 2012, to nearly 10% of all ballots cast in 2020. If that growth continues, and if that loophole remains, all the election reforms passed by the Legislature this year will be for naught.

The good news is that the public is on your side. A recent poll, conducted by WPA Intelligence for the Texas Public Policy Foundation, shows that four out of five Texans believe voting in person and by mail should have the same voter identification requirements. Securing that reform will go a long way toward minimizing the threat of fraud—and toward restoring Texans’ confidence in future elections.

We will continue to advocate for these reforms, so know that you can count on us to amplify Texas’ progress, should they be enacted. Again, Governor Abbott, we thank you for your leadership when all eyes truly are on Texas.


The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President, Republic Book Publishers
Thomas Fitton
Judicial Watch, Inc.
Kevin Roberts
Texas Public Policy Foundation
L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
President and CEO, First Liberty Institute
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Senior Legal Fellow, CPI
Chairman, Election Protection Initiative, FreedomWorks
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
The Honorable Russ Vought
Office of Management and Budget (2020-2021)
The Honorable Paul S. Teller, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Advancing American Freedom
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
Thomas E. McClusky
March for Life Action
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell
The Leadership Institute
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
Scott T. Parkinson
VP for Government Affairs
Club for Growth
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute
Marjorie Dannenfelser
Susan B. Anthony List
Frank Cannon
Founding President
American Principles Project
The Honorable Ken Cuccinelli
National Chairman
Election Transparency Initiative
Bob Carlstrom
AMAC Action
Mike Davis
Founder and President
Article III Project (A3P)
Dr. Jerry A. Johnson
President (2013-2019)
National Religious Broadcasters
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director for President Reagan, 1985-1988
Trent England
Executive Director
Save Our States
Charles J. Cooper
Assistant Attorney General, President Reagan (1985-1988)
Cooper & Kirk, PLLC
Richard Manning
Americans for Limited Government
Tom DeWeese
American Policy Center
J. Christian Adams
Public Interest Legal Foundation
Ambassador Henry F. Cooper
President Reagan’s Chief Nuclear and Space Negotiator
Former SDI Director
Carrie Lukas
Independent Women’s Forum
Heather R. Higgins
Independent Women’s Voice
Lori Roman
ACRU Action Fund
Jim Martin
60 Plus Association
Sheryl Kaufman
Texas Resident, Board Member
Americans for Limited Government
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
The Honorable Scott Walker
Young America’s Foundation
Dr. Rick Scarborough
President, Recover America Now
National Pastor Advisor, The Jonathan Project
Floyd Brown
The Western Journal
Joel Anand Samy
Co-Host, America’s Roundtable Radio
Co-Founder, International Leaders Summit
The Honorable Stephen Stockman
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Texas
Clare Lopez
Founder/President Lopez Liberty LLC
Lopez Liberty LLC
Mat Staver
Founder and Chairman
Liberty Counsel
Karen England
Executive Director
Capitol Resource Institute
The Honorable Mike Hill
Former Member
Florida State House
Matthew Tyrmand
Matthew Tyrmand LLC
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Martha Boneta
Vote America First
Kielle C. Horton
The Lindsey Foundation
Darrel W. Johnson
Attic Corp
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Seton Motley
Less Government
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Rob Chambers
Vice President
AFA Action
Sandy Rios
Director of Governmental Affairs
Linda L. Bean
Bean Maine Lobster
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
E.W. Jackson Sr.
STAND Foundation, Inc.
Eleanor Nicholas
Retired President
Gospel First Ministries
Richard Norman
Founder and President
The Richard Norman Company
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
Fr. Frank Pavone
National Director
Priests for Life
Ralph A. Rebandt II
Candidate for Michigan Governor 2022
Ralph Rebandt for Governor
Nancy Schulze
Founder, President
RCW Speakers
William W. Pascoe, III
Tea Party Patriots Action
Bill Shaker
Washington Marketing Group
Glenn P. Story
Patriot Mobile
The Honorable Diana Denman
The Reagan Legacy Forum
Khadine Ritter
Eagle Forum of Ohio
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
Randy M. Long
Long Business Advisors, LLC
Lee Beaman
Beaman Ventures
Amapola Hansberger
Founder and President
Legal Immigrants for America
Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
The Honorable Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Chad Connelly
Faith Wins
Jack Park
Conservative Activist and Donor
Law Offices of Jack Park
Mark Bloom
Business Owner
Ole Podner LLC
Terrence Scanlon
Chairman 1985-89; Commissioner 1983-85
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
David Haas
Morrison Inc
Andresen Blom
Hawaiian Values
Don L. Woodsmall
Arromid, LLC
Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group
Art Ally
Timothy Partners, Ltd.
Gary Marx
The Concord Fund
Rebecca Hagelin
United in Purpose

The Conservative Action Project (CAP) was founded in 2008 by many conservative leaders, with former Attorney General Edwin Meese III serving as Founding Chairman. The group works to facilitate conservative leaders working together on behalf of common goals. CAP routinely issues "Memos to the Movement" demonstrating consensus among conservatives on key issues.